District Meetings

The District Conference

The District Conference is the annual Business meeting for the District held in the late spring of the year. It is chaired by the District Governor. The purpose of the District Conference is for fellowship, for conducting any business or voting on resolutions presented, and to review the programs for the District year. In addition there will be speakers including the President of RI or representative appointed by the President to attend the conference.

The District Assembly

In view of the annual leadership turnover each year, special effort is made to provide instruction to the incoming club officers and District leadership. The assembly is conducted by the incoming governor to prepare and coordinate the leadership for the coming Rotary year. The assembly is scheduled in the spring prior to the District conference. The areas normally covered are:

  • Rotary theme for the coming year
  • Approval of the District Budget
  • District Goals and plans
  • Schedule of the Governor’s planned club visits
  • Training for Presidents, assistant governors, club secretaries and treasurers

The Rotary Foundation Seminar

The District Governor usually holds a Rotary Foundation seminar in the fall of the year to provide information on the programs of the foundation and review the progress in achieving the District and Rotary International goals for the year. In addition, there may be a special Foundation Dinner held in the spring to honor Paul Harris Fellows and major donors for the previous year.

District Recognitions

PDG Bill Campbell Club Performance Awards: A District award recognizing the outstanding clubs in the District. Clubs are recognized according to club size, with an overall District winner declared after the completion of the Rotary year. A traveling trophy is presented to the club of the year. The award is named after the late PDG Bill Campbell of the Rotary Club of Mount Vernon.

RI Presidential Citation: This is a recognition for clubs that have achieved the goals set by the President of RI in each of the five (5) avenues of service.